Wednesday, 14 April 2010

Yla Steven, Solos and Duets (n.d.)

Yla Steven and Colin O'Riordan, Solos and Duets (n.d.)

1) The Fiddlers from Hoydalar
2) Lament for Archie Beaton
3) Mackworth/Mary Walker/Banks
4) Donald Macphersons lament
5) The Shetlander
6) The Coleburn
7) Edgefauld House/The Sands of Murness/Sandieburn Reel
8) The Wild Rose of the Mountain
9) Lady Charlotte Campbell/Robert McIntosh
10) Balmoral Castle/Glen Grant
11) The Academician
12) Chapel Keithack
13) The Tron Fiddlers
14) Lament for Lockerbie
15) The Hardanger
16) Niel Gow's Lament 2nd Wife
17) King Robert the Br/Craigellachie Bridge/The Devil and the Dirk
18) The Bonnie Lass O' Bonaccord
19) Back to Hills
20) The Duke of Fife's Welcome to Deeside/Tulchan Lodge/Left Handed Fiddle

I'm afraid I know very little about this recording, as I only had a copy on cassette. Yla Steven has been written about below; Colin O'Riordan was a highly influential music educator in Edinburgh who had a great love for traditional fiddle music. He took his own life in 2001 after becoming depressed about funding cuts. His only other fiddle recordings, as far as I know, are with the Scottish Fiddle Orchestra. All I have of the cover is a couple of poor quality scans.


Other albums featuring Yla Steven:

No comments:

Post a Comment