Wednesday, 14 April 2010

Yla Steven, Back to the Hills (1976)

Yla Steven, Back to the Hills (Scottish Records SR 142, 1976)

01 Back to the Hills
02 Duke of Fife's Welcome to Fife/Tulchan Lodge/Left Handed Fiddler
03 Caledonia's Wail for Neil Gow
04 Lady Charlotte Campbell
05 Glen Coe
06 Barren Rocks of Aden/Stirling Castle/Largo's Fairy Dance
07 The Valley of Silence
08 Queen's Welcome to Invercauld/Laird o' Drumblair/Deil Amang the Tailors
09 Dumbarton Castle/South of the Grampians/Marquis of Huntly's Reel
10 Ossian
11 Scott Skinner's Comps to Dr McDonald/The Iron Man/The Bungalow
12 Sitting In the Stern of a Boat
13 Beauty of the North/Geordie Affleck
14 Goodbye Gramin
15 Fyvie Castle
16 Balmoral Castle/Glen Grant/Gladstone

Yla Steven learned fiddle as a youngster in Edinburgh and Perthshire, and at the Royal Scottish Academy of Music and Drama in Glasgow. She has been teaching fiddle in Edinburgh schools for many years now, and in 1983 formed the Lothian Schools Strathspey and Reels Society. Yla has won many fiddle championships, including the exclusive Golden Fiddle Award in 1976. As far as I know, she has released to albums of fiddle music: Back to the Hills in 1976, and Solos and Duets with the late Colin O'Riordan.


Other albums featuring Yla Steven:

No comments:

Post a Comment