Sunday, 17 April 2011

Talisker: Saving Up for a Transit (1995)

Talisker: Saving Up for a Transit (1995)

The first - and I think the only - album from Scottish folk group Talisker, about whom I know almost nothing. They were Kirsty Leavey (vocals, bodhran, keyboards), Jennifer Milne (fiddle), John Davidson (vocals, guitar, flute, whistles) and Nick Hanley (bouzouki, guitar, vocals). Davidson was in The Skelpit Lug ceilidh band (based in Linlithgow) before Talisker, and in the late 90s he and Hanley formed a blues duo, and then the Sourmash Blues Band. More recently, John formed the Perthshire-based Tarnybackle (, who have released at least three albums and are still going strong today.

01 Both Sides the Tweed
02 Brenda Stubbert's Reel
03 MacPherson's Rant
04 I Once Loved a Lad
05 Roseville Fair
06 The Blacksmith/The Merry Blacksmith
07 Baron's Heir
08 My Youngest Son
09 Bonnie Lad Ye Gang By Me
10 Niel Gow's Farewell to Whisky
11 Green Grow the Rashes

Covers included



  1. Hi from Pck
    Many thanks for your recent postings....they are all greatly appreciated...and, again, many thanks in all you do to enable the 'music' to stay alive.....
    Cy from Pck

  2. Wow! Now there's a blast from the past. Thank you for posting our album. All the best, Jennifer Milne (the fiddler).