Friday, 17 December 2010

Ian Walker and Setanta: Crossing the Borderlines (1992)

Setanta and Ian Walker: Crossing the Borderlines (1992)

01 Three Kerry Polkas
02 Whatever You Think
03 Sliabh Gallion Braes
04 Ring Around the Moon
05 Ponte Isabella/The Man of the House/The Bucks of Oranmore
06 The Healing Touch
07 Remember Solferino
08 The Soldier's Return
09 The Merry Blacksmith/Miss Susan Cooper/Willafjord
10 Saint Paul's Song
11 An Comhra Donn/The Galtee Rangers/The Foxhunters
12 The Anchor Line

Setanta had a few line-ups; this one featured core members Jack Bethel (hammer dulcimer, concertina, xylophone), Colin McAllister (vocals, bodhran, percussion) and David Munro (Uillean pipes, fiddle, vocals), with Mike Berry (fiddle),  and Hunter McConnell (guitar, vocals). Munro, Bethel and McAllister played sessions in Glasgow and Lanarkshire in the early 1970s and were part of scratch-band Not the Full Shillin'. Setanta were also born out of sessions in the mid-1970s, They recorded two albums, Setanta (1988) and this one in 1992. Reflecting the Glasgow session scene, most of the tunes that Setanta played were in fact Irish.


No comments:

Post a Comment