Wednesday, 1 December 2010

Ron Gonnella: The Gow Collections (1973)

Ron Gonnella: The Gow Collections (1973)

01 General Robertson of Lawers/Miss Stewart of Grandtully/Dunkeld Steeple
02 The Mill, Mill O/A Favourite Quickstep
03 Auld Robin Gray
04 Niel Gow's Lament for his Second Wife/Lady Charlotte Campbell/kincaldrum's Reel
05 Wishaw's Delight/Drummond Castle/The Earl of Morton's Jig
06 Niel Gow's Farewell to Whisky
07 Col Hamilton of Pencatland/Col H F Campbell/Miss Grace Hay's Delight
08 Lady Cunningham of Livingstone/Perthshire Volunteers/Mr Sharp's Favourite
09 Roslin Castle/Garthlands/Lord Mauchline's Reel
10 Bothwell Castle
11 Mrs Hamilton of Pencaitland/The Duchess of Hamilton/Mrs Stirling of Keir
12 The Bonniest Lass in a' the Warld/Mrs Adye/Miss Gibson
13 Miss Sally Hunter of Thurston/Dumfries House/Miss Johnston of Hilton's Fancy
14 The Caledonian Hunt's Delight/The Caledonian Hunt/Mrs Hay of Yester's Reel

After his 1966 debut solo record, it took another seven years for this second Ron Gonnella solo album, but it was well worth the wait. Here we have Gonnella playing the music he loved while at the top of his game. The music is mostly from the eighteenth century, all published in various collections from the Gow family: patriarch Niel Gow, famous fiddler in his day; his sons Nathanial - who took on his father's mantle - William and Andrew.


Other posts featuring Ron Gonnella:
Ron Gonnella: Scottish Violin Music (1966)
Ron Gonnella: Fiddler's Fancy (1975) 
Ron Gonnella: Fiddle Gems (1976)
Various Artists: Fiddle Miscellany 3 (2010)


  1. this is really a gem, thanks a million !

  2. hey Music Gatherer,

    I just stumbled upon this page, it might be of interest to you


  3. Many many many thanks for all your great work for this nice music!!!!