Monday, 8 November 2010

The Legendary Angus Fitchet (1983)

The Legendary Angus Fitchet (1983)

01 Elizabeth Adair*/Donald Ian Rankine/My Dungannan Sweetheart/Shakin' of the Piggery
02 Millbank Cottage/Captain Carswell
03 My Heart Is Sair/Auld Scotch Sangs/Nameless Lassie/Annie Laurie
04 The Dancing Dustman
05 Melody for Jim McFarlane*/The Joan Blue March*
06 The Mary Smith Polka*
07 JB Milne*/Donald Stewart the Piper/Norman Whitelaw*/The Miller
08 Jack Cooper March*/John Stephen of Chance Inn*/Rhoda McFadyen*
09 Lerwick Waltz*
10 Hornpipes: Robertson's/Cooper's/College/Miss Gayton's
11 Golden Harvest*/Comps to Ian Powrie*/Lass o' Corrie's Mill/Mrs Agnes Watt
12 Scott Skinner's Cradle Song/Thrums Cairn
13 Miss Delicia Chisholm/Gay Gordons
14 Stool of Repentance/Jackson's Jig/Maids on the Green/Frost is All Over

In 1921 Angus Fitchet from Dundee was taken by his fiddler father to see James Scott Skinner perform at the Caird Hall. It changed his life and from that day he practised playing along with Skinner's 78rpm recordings. By 1931 he was recording for Beltona Records and thus began a long and successful recording and performing career. As well as his own bands, Fitchet played with many of the great musicians and bands of his day: Jimmy Shand, Will Starr, Robert Wilson, Jimmy Blue, Andy Stewart, Bobby Crowe, etc.

This album does not have much solo fiddling, disappointingly; it's very much a band recording, but it has Fitchet's spirit in it and includes many of his compositions (marked *).

Front and back covers included


No comments:

Post a Comment