Saturday, 10 July 2010

Angus Cameron: Bow to the Fiddle (1975)

Angus Cameron: Bow to the Fiddle (Beltona Sword SBE 180, 1975)

During the 1930s there was a group of three brothers in the county of Angus called The Cameron Men, who performed and recorded Scottish fiddle music. Angus Cameron of Kirriemuir was born into this family, and learned fiddle from an early age from one of the Cameron Men, his father Will Cameron. In 1952 Angus won the Alyth Fiddle Festival at the age of 17, and soon afterwards the Scottish Fiddle Championship, starting an illustrious path through Scottish fiddle circles. As well as playing with his own dance band, he has appeared on numerous television programmes and reformed the Angus Strathspey and Reel Society.

01 Balmoral Castle/Glenlivet/David Adams
02 Flowers o' the Forest
03 Corgarff Castle/Marquis of Huntly/Eugene Stratton
04 Athole Highlanders' Farewell/Brig o' Perth/High Road to Linton
05 Bonnie Lass o' Bon Accord
06 Edgefauld House/Forbes Morrison/The Hurricane
07 The Hen's March/Willafiord Jack/Ollifiord Jack
08 Scott Skinner's Comps/Marchioness of Huntly/Willie Mann of Paddy
09 Mrs Maj Stewart of Java/Bob Johnstone's/Bob Johnstone's
10 Taps of Fechle/Jimmy Blue's/Jimmy Blue's
11 Mrs Scott Skinner/Craigellachie Brig/Lassies o' Stewarton
12 Blackthorn Stick/Connaughtman's Rambles/Tennpenny Bit/Biddy the Bowl Wife
13 Lament for Abercairney/Miss Marianne Oliphant/Cross of Inverness
14 Oh Lady Be Good


Other albums featuring Angus Cameron:

No comments:

Post a Comment