Saturday, 10 July 2010

Angus Cameron: Strings to the Bow (1977)

Angus Cameron: Strings to the Bow (1977)

This was Cameron's follow-up to his first solo LP, Bow to the Fiddle (1975) and it has him on top form playing the music he obviously loves. Steeped in the fiddle tradition of the county of Angus, Cameron displays an understanding of the genre. Cameron's father Will Cameron had travelled to London in 1931 to record some solo sides for Edison Bell records, and twee years later again, this time with his brothers James and George (fiddles) and Stewart (piano), recorded a number of solo and group efforts. These records have been re-issued in LP format.

01 Harry Scott of Friokheim/Earl of Dalkeith/Tony Reid of Balnakilly
02 JO Forbes of Corse/Glen Grant/Sir Reginald McDonald
03 The Weeping Birches of Kilmorack
04 Mrs HL McDonald/Duke of Edinburgh/Stray Lodge
05 The Flower o' the Quern-Ballochmyle Brig-Angus Campbell
06 Glen Prosen March/Littlejohn's Hame/Spey In a Spate
07 Farewell to Whisky/Beeswing
08 Margaret-Anne Robertson/Earl Grey/hurdle Race
09 March of the Cameron Men/Cameron Highlanders/Mrs McIntosh of Raigmore/Marquis of Huntly
10 Our Highland Queen/Forth Brig/Forth Brig
11 Mr Minchie/Mrs Adie/Mackintosh of Mackintosh
12 Stool of Repentance/Patrick Harper's Jig/Rakes of Kildare
13 Da Tushkar/Mickie Ainsworth/Millbrae/Susan Cooper
14 Sweet Georgia Brown


Other albums featuring Angus Cameron:

No comments:

Post a Comment